Posted by: Mermaid | January 1, 2014

Dessert for Two and Hazelnut Eyes

Writing has been the scarcest this year. Although I do not publish much but I am still writing, inside my head with the same frequency, which is not good because at times I feel my head is going to explode! New year’s resolution, write outside your head more.

Although the year was not the greatest but I still consider myself blessed beyond gratefulness. Shamefully, I do not act thankful enough to Him. I hope I’ll get back on track before it’s too late.

I have met some new people this year. Some were very, very unkind and extremely hurtful and judgemental. But, fortunately, met others who were very sweet and who wished me laughter and joy without knowing me much. New year’s resolution, don’t be too sensitive. Embrace colourful words and reflect upon black ones without being much affected by them.

Reading has been as scarce as writing but I am trying to change it. Am caught up in a new Arabic novel (hopefully I can write a review about it once done). New year’s resolution, read 2-3 books per month.

I discovered I like photography a lot. I enjoy taking lots of pictures and editing them with simple applications.

This year has been the best in terms of travelling. Sri Lanka, Scotland, South Africa, UAE, and twice to England. I hope next year I can travel as much or more.

When I went to work this morning, I did not have plans for the evening specially that I do not celebrate the new year but I just wanted to reflect on the passing one. That’s why I decided to leave work on time, go read somewhere then go for a long walk. I was very happy with this plan and was looking forward to it all day long till Nahla, my best friend, knew about it and suggested she joins. Nahla is one of the few people whose company I prefer to mine. We meet in one of our favourite restaurants, have an early dinner with words, tears and laughter flowing over our table. Then we shared the obscene dessert that we both love; chocolate fondant. After finishing the massacre, we headed to her home with both humming Buble’s song: “Tell me when will you be mine… quando, quando, quando, quando…”. I could not think of a better company at that moment.

Am home. Chat with dad for a while before heading to where mom is. She’s reading her newspaper as usual. I have not changed into my home clothes but I tuck myself in next to her on the big bed and then we start chatting. After an hour or so, some fireworks crack outside. She wonders why people are doing this at 12 AM. I remind her it’s new years. She smiles widely and we recall how we used to spend new year’s eve when we were kids; a homemade cake, salted nuts and decorations in the house. I wish I had her hazelnut eyes. I spend the last few moments of 2013 and the first ones of 2014 with the person I love the most in this world. May Allah grant my parents health and blessings always.

Maya, for the new year, may the volcano inside sleep, may it snow on your heart, may desserts always be shared with loved ones, may you always be embraced in their eyes, and may you always cherish what you have.

Now Norah Jones is lulling me to sleep…

Come away with me in the night

Come away with me

And I will write you a song

Come away with me on a bus

Come away where they can’t tempt us

With their lies

I want to walk with you

On a cloudy day

In fields where the yellow grass grows knee-high

So won’t you try to come

Come away with me and we’ll kiss

On a mountaintop

Come away with me

And I’ll never stop loving you

And I want to wake up with the rain

Falling on a tin roof

While I’m safe there in your arms

So all I ask is for you

To come away with me in the night

Come away with me

Responses

  1. That’s beautiful :)

  2. :) :) :)

  3. I miss you on all levels virtually and in reality :)

  4. That comment made my day :)

    Miss you a lot, dear :)


Leave a Reply

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 368 other followers

