Posted by: Mermaid | December 31, 2007

The Broken Glass Container Beside my Desk

Two days ago while moving with the chair behind my desk, I heard a crash. I looked and found that the glass container has fallen and broken part of it. I raised my eyebrows thinking … this glass container with small white stones inside was once a source of unbelievable bliss and heavenly ecstasy. Shortly afterwards, it became a source of unbearable pain and thorny moments. But even then, I never thought of removing it. Maybe because I believe that we should keep the source of pain in front of us… look at it in the eyes… only then, pain would subside. And this is what happened. I kept it next to my desk… was very painful doing so… but then, step by step, pain started to numb me. When I saw the broken glass, I told myself: “Here, it represents nothing anymore to you! It lost its heavenly and hellish taste. It has become a mere glass container. And it is time to remove it.” An internal phone call, followed by a kind-hearted office boy with a broom … and the memories were swept away!


Responses

  1. I’m not a fan of psychological theories .. but ..with a deeper look at these words .. “I never thought of removing it. Maybe because I believe that we should keep the source of pain in front of us… look at it in the eyes… only then, pain would subside. And this is what happened” .. I found these words reminding me of something I used to say (I addressed Mayada with the same words in a previous comment on a work of hers) which is ..We are a people fond of sadness for a very amazing reason; sadness breaks the distances erected between us. Now, Mayada, has added to my idea, meaning, sadness breaks the distances erected between us and ourselves!!
    You are a good observer and analyzer, Mayada .. You’ve made the purgation that’s found in drama emerges from simple words about broken glass that’s swept with memories away.

  2. Yes, I think I am an observer (not a good one though). But unfortunately, being someone who thinks that much is torturing sometimes.

    Thanks for the comment ya Bahaa!


Leave a Reply

Categories

