Posted by: Mermaid | February 25, 2008

From Castaway Movie

castaway.jpg 

  

“We both had done the math…
Kelly added it all up and… knew she had to let me go…
I added it up, and knew that I had… lost her… ‘cos I was never gonna get off that island… I was gonna die there, totally alone… I was gonna get sick, or get injured or something… The only choice I had, the only thing I could control was when, and how, and where it was going to happen… So… I made a rope and I went up to the summit, to hang myself… I had to test it, you know? Of course. You know me… And the weight of the log, snapped the limb of the tree, so I- I – , I couldn’t even kill myself the way I wanted to… I had power over *nothing*…

And that’s when this feeling came over me like a warm blanket… I knew, somehow, that I had to stay alive… Somehow… I had to keep breathing… Even though there was no reason to hope… And all my logic said that I would never see this place again…

So that’s what I did… I stayed alive… I kept breathing… And one day my logic was proven all wrong because the tide came in, and gave me a sail…

And now, here I am… I’m back… In Memphis, talking to you… I have ice in my glass…

And I’ve lost her all over again…

I’m so sad that I don’t have Kelly… But I’m so grateful that she was with me on that island…

And I know what I have to do now… I gotta keep breathing…

Because tomorrow the sun will rise…

Who knows what the tide could bring…?” 


Responses

  1. That’s just the way it is

    Long time ago when I read Robinson Crusoe, I couldn’t get rid of it till the phrase “The End” appeared …. Then I compared this novel to (حى بن يقظان) and I’ve seen the movie (Castaway) twice and they flourished a very strange feeling that was there before and after.

    Being a man who tends to be lonely, I found something in them that raises solution or hope inside me .. then I’ve been thinking (my most hated hobby) .. could it be destined for a man to live ALONE even for a period of time in his life? .. Most of the times I say yes, yes and yes.

    This idea was, to me, like the shape of Arabic alphabet before (أبو الأسود الدؤلى) and after that. Thus, it was so casual (like letters without dots) and so different (just as letters afterwards).

    In fact, I was struggling against this idea for some reasons; one of them was that I have my enough of lonliness inside, would I tolerate some more outside?

    The idea was fascinating and suffocating .. This movie showed a lot about this meaning (despite being forcedly expelled away), yet, is it better than (for example) death or un-cured illness or miserable life? And to which degree would patience “keep breathing” ?

    Why don’t you give us your opinion Mayada?

  2. Mermaid, you are tagged! :)

  3. Ya Bahaa,

    Eih el kalam el kebeer dah?! :)

    In the movie, he was not as alone on the island as when he got back home. She was with him on the island, even if not physically. This is what many of us experience; sometimes we feel lonely even when we’re among people…. and not as such when we are alone… because the presence of someone inside us is filling all the emptiness.

    Loneliness is a choice… we choose to be lonely or not. It is one of the …. most tempting choices. Ya3ny, it is difficult not to slip into the trap of lonliness. Yet, we can… with some (or sometimes a lot of) effort, minimize this loneliness to rise above it… and “feel” people inside.

    Bass kedah :)

  4. ده فيلمي المفضل دخلته سينما 4 مرات وتقريبا بشوفه مرة على الاقل كل شهر على الكمبيوتر
    اختيار عبقري

  5. Thank you for your opinion.

  6. Thank you ya Noha! Menawara :))

    Most welcome ya Bahaa :)


Leave a comment

Categories