Posted by: Mermaid | July 27, 2011

Who I Am!

A colleague tried to convince me a couple of times to change:

Him: Mayada, aren’t you gonna loosen up shewaya?

Me: Loosen up how?

Him: Ya3ny do not be too strict and tough keda. Men do not like this!

Me: First, I do not care what men like! I am who I am and I do not have the slightest intention of changing just to be liked by anyone. Second, in case my real personality is the opposite of what you see, there’s no way on earth I’d show at work this soft part of me. Why would I flutter my eyelashes to the Operations Manager while requesting a budget sheet?!

Another time, same colleague:

Him: Aren’t you gonna change ba2a?

Me: Why would I?!!!

Him: Ya3ny, be like everybody else.

Me: And why would I want to do that?!

Him: To have fun and enjoy life!

Me: And who said I don’t do that already?

Him: Ya3ny you want to tell me that you enjoy yourself with whatever you do – the reading and attending cultural stuff?

Me: Of course yes!

Him: La2, but you have to change still. If you do what others do, you’ll have fun and mingle more.

Me: And why on earth do you think I need to be somebody else or change the way I am to have fun?!!! Why do I have to follow others’ ways to enjoy life? Why do you think I cannot enjoy my life my way?!!!

I think I was fierce enough this time to silence him!


To anybody who believes I need to change, tough luck! I like the way I am in the most narcissistic way and if I am ever going to change, it is going to be because “I” want to do so, definitely not because others want it or because they think I need to be “one of the herd”!


Responses

  1. وَاصْبِرْ نَفْسَكَ مَعَ الَّذِينَ يَدْعُونَ رَبَّهُمْ بِالْغَدَاةِ وَالْعَشِيِّ يُرِيدُونَ وَجْهَهُ ۖ وَلَا تَعْدُ عَيْنَاكَ عَنْهُمْ تُرِيدُ زِينَةَ الْحَيَاةِ الدُّنْيَا ۖ وَلَا تُطِعْ مَنْ أَغْفَلْنَا قَلْبَهُ عَنْ ذِكْرِنَا وَاتَّبَعَ هَوَاهُ وَكَانَ أَمْرُهُ فُرُطًا

  2. بهاء….الايه لخصت كل ما يقال

    الغريب ان في ناس مقولبين نفسهم في قوالب مش لايقه عليهم يعني لازم يسهر في ديسكو مثلا عشان الكولنس طالب كده
    وزمان الواحد كان بيتريق على اهله اما يقولوا ان صاحب السوء والسجاير والمخدرات والكلام ده بس طلع فعلا ان الاخرين غالبا ما يحددوا خياراتنا في الحياة من ناحية اللبس وطريقة الكلام والاكل حتى!!
    يعني لزوم ان الواحد يبقى كول يلزقله كلمتين انجليزي وسط الجملة مع ان ممكن يعبر عن نفسه احسن بس لازم يحرج نفسه عشان يبان انه كول وبيعرف يتكلم انجلش لانجوش!!

  3. ana et3assabt 3al sob7!

    2allak loosen up 2al :S

  4. أنا متفقة مع أحمد… الآية لخصت الموضوع فعلا يا بهاء.

    أحمد :))) ليه الواحد مش يخليه في حاله ومش ليه دعوة بالناس التانية؟

    ابراهيم، شفت؟!!! أنا أعمل إيه بقى؟

  5. who own the optimum way??
    the matter is really realtive
    why should we see ourselves on others ..
    you are completly free in choosing your way of living

  6. Nobody owns the optimum way, not on this earth / life I’d say! What we can do is to live “our way” in the “best way” as much as we can :)

    Yes, the matter is really relative. I agree. The thing is, some believe it’s their way or no other way! :)


Leave a Reply

Categories

