Posted by: Mermaid | July 23, 2012

What I Need or What I Want?

I have been reading books since I was 11 or 12 maybe. Because of my studies and hobby, I accumulated a considerable number of books. Last year, I was encouraged to get a Kindle e-reader and I did. Ever since, I almost didn’t buy any paper books. While talking with my dear friend Rabab, she told me that she was letting go of her books trying to be less attached to and possessive of material things. After this conversation, I decided it is time to follow her lead. I kept only my very favourite books, those written by friends, and gift ones. The rest I added to Rabab’s and headed to my undergrad school, Faculty of Arts, English Department.

Dr. Loubna Youssef, the department head, was very kind and showed great gratitude for the gesture. Luckily, I bumped into Dr. Khaled Tawfeeq, an old (not in “age” sense) professor who was the reason I got interested in translation. I was happily stunned when he remembered a question I asked him in one of his classes more than twelve years ago! That was a happy moment :)

Anyway, that conversation with Rabab made me consider my attachment to worldly possessions. I became more willing to let go of what I do not need. As Rabab put it: “I get only what I need, not what I want”. What will the world look like if we follow this motto? Will there still be people in need, hungry, cold? Doesn’t being detached from material things make us more compassionate towards others? I am not quite there, but am trying.

اللهم لا تُعلق قلوبنا بالدنيا!ا


Responses

  1. As always, I enjoy reading your thoughts.. :)

  2. BTW, when it comes to books I always remember this verse:
    لَن تَنَالُوا الْبِرَّ حَتَّىٰ تُنفِقُوا مِمَّا تُحِبُّونَ ۚ وَمَا تُنفِقُوا مِن شَيْءٍ فَإِنَّ اللَّـهَ بِهِ عَلِيمٌ ﴿٩٢﴾ ~ آل عمران

    so I try to lend / give away of my books more.. its the thing I love the most in life..

  3. Coming from “you”, this means a lot to me ya Eman :) Thank you, dear :)

    I love this verse and I always feel guilty I do not follow it as much as I would like to.

    ربنا يكرمك ويتقبل :)


Leave a Reply

Categories

