Posted by: Mermaid | October 2, 2016

A First-time Dahab-er

Some of my friends are addicted to the charming little town. I couldn’t go sooner because my parents feared the security issues happening in Sinai and because I feared the cats inhabiting the place! Finally, I managed to go. I expected it would be overwhelming, that I’d be head over heels once I set foot in the town. But it wasn’t the case. First impression was that it’s a simple, beautiful little town with friendly inhabitants. After staying there for a couple of days, the place got to me, got under my skin. It is truly enchanting, but not the sea or the people or the mountains. Its spirit is. Its little details are. It’s colours varying from endless shades of blue to green to brown. It’s palm trees and fallen ripe dates.

dav

I was lucky to have my first visit to Dahab with Nahla, my best friend. She has been there many times and knows the place inside out. After a day of just roaming around, she intrigued me into trying snorkelling in the Blue Hole. The journey from our hotel to the snorkelling place took around 15 to 20 mins by car and lots and lots of pictures.

img_20160723_104743-resized

When we reached the Blue Hole, I wasn’t impressed, just another beautiful spot in the red Sea but nothing spectacular about it. I put on the gear, listened to some instructions from Nahla and then blooof… into the water ربنا ما خلقت هذا باطلا سبحانك إني كنت من الظالمين that is all I could say throughout the under the sea surface journey. Hadn’t I been dependent on having my mouth shut on the snorkelling mask, I would have had it open in awe. Yes, this is what this underwater world puts you in; awe. سبحان الله سبحان الله a world that is stunning in its beauty and harmony. I giggled, touched coral reefs from afar and waved to some of my fish relatives there and introduced myself as “the Mermaid of all oceans and seas”… Well, who happened to be wearing a life jacket, which is a trivial detail really :)

It felt like… Home. That I really belonged there, with the graceful fish, colourful coral reefs and sun rays that added glamour to everything under the water surface. Then came this moment when I decided to stop swimming. I just floated, let the current take control of where to move my exhausted body. A gentle sway carried this small, insignificant, worrying, restless creature… For a moment everything fell into its true perspective. For a moment, I could touch the light. And I sighed and smiled and breathed.

I didn’t regret so much not having a suitable camera with me there. Some moments and pictures are very well stored in our hearts. And forever will be kept and cherished there.

blue-hole-2-resized-2


Responses

  1. Wonderful… Really wonderful

    Nice to see your writings again, Miss Mermaid Of All Oceans & Seas.

  2. Thanks a lot, Bahaa :)


Leave a Reply

Categories

